Everyday yoga

How to wait like a champ.

Big city life just became so much easier thanks to this happy little technique from Sharon Salzberg.

I tried this while waiting for my train this morning and had to pull myself back a few times. I noticed two things: 1) that it’s easy to default to focussing on something negative or annoying and 2) that it’s equally easy to cope with or escape from that habit by pulling out my phone and withdrawing from the immediate space around me!

Being present and shifting one’s focus is much harder, but it’s also more rewarding as you begin to notice the loveliness around you.

It’s choosing what you will dwell on that creates the kind of world you dwell in.

Share your thoughts...

